Movement Magazine


Thomas Bellflower March 28, 2015


Billy Talent announces the release of the official music video for their powerful new single ‘Chasing The Sun,’ featured on their HITS anthology via The End Records. In their emotional interview with Entertainment Tonight Canada, the band revealed that ‘Chasing the Sun’ was written after the sudden passing of Trevor Solowoniuk, brother of Billy Talent’s drummer Aaron Solowoniuk and a close friend of the band. Fans can watch the piece featuring the band in intimate conversation with ET Canada here.

Official ‘Chasing The Sun’ music video

Of ‘Chasing the Sun,’ Ian D’Sa says “This song was written as a way to cope with the experience of losing someone so close, so suddenly.  It sums up the feeling of shock and devastation we all felt, and what Aaron dealt with emotionally after his brother’s passing.”  Ben Kowalewicz adds, “Trevor’s death was devastating for us as a band.  This song was our way of trying to cope with this massive loss.”  Finally, Aaron says, “For me, this song is about my having a hard time losing someone I loved dearly.”

In addition to the release of the new single, Billy Talent have several upcoming Canadian festival shows, including performances at the CMW Indie Awards on May 9th; Rock The Park in London, Ontario on July 18th; and Heavy MTL in August.

Since the release of their self-titled debut in 2003, Billy Talent have cemented themselves as a generation-defining rock band.  Boasting nearly one million albums sold in Canada alone and nearly 3 million albums sold internationally, the band have seen multi-platinum certifications for their albums Billy Talent I and II and III, and platinum status for the latest studio album Dead Silence.  The band has enjoyed tremendous success at Canadian rock radio where they have had three #1 hits that combined for 19 weeks at the top spot, six Top 5 hits, and five Top 10 hits.

Billy Talent HITS CD & MP3 formats available now
Split-color deluxe vinyl LP with DVD insert available August 4

HITS Tracklisting
01. Try Honesty
02. River Below
03. Nothing To Lose
04. Devil In a Midnight Mass
05. Red Flag
06. Fallen Leaves
07. Surrender
08. Devil On My Shoulder
09. Rusted From the Rain
10. Viking Death March
11. Surprise Surprise
12. Stand Up and Run
13. Kingdom of Zod
14. Chasing the Sun

Download the album

Exclusive CD/DVD bundle available via The Omega Order

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.