Movement Magazine

Kevin Morby signs to Dead Oceans and shares “Moonshiner”

Thomas Bellflower August 11, 2015

SHARES “MOONSHINER” OFF UPCOMING 7-INCH

“MOONSHINER” B/W “BRIDGE TO GAIA” OUT SEPT. 4TH

 

In anticipation of Kevin Morby‘s Dead Oceans debut in 2016 and in support of a thorough fall touring schedule, we’re pleased to announce a 7″ slated for release this September. “Moonshiner” and “Bridge To Gaia” are two unreleased gems from Morby’s reliably powerful, yet understated work. The 7-inch is out September 4th, but we’re sharing “Moonshiner” today.

Says Morby, “I wrote ‘Moonshiner’ a few years ago after reading what has become one of my favorite contemporary books: The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt. The book was very inspiring to me at that time and it pulled a few different songs out of me – ‘Moonshiner’ being the most directly influenced. I wrote the b-side, ‘Bridge To Gaia,’ while on vacation in Porto, Portugal. I ended up there after a tour and it quickly became my favorite city in all of Europe. The apartment I was renting was at the foot of a bridge that would take you to the town across the river, Gaia. It, like everything about Porto, is immensely beautiful and inspiring. It’s a different beauty than I had ever experienced. There was almost something sinister to it. The clouds moved fast, there was always a bell tolling and all the school kids wore capes. This song came out of all that.”

LISTEN TO “MOONSHINER”
http://bit.ly/1N4Y6r7
KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES:
Sun. Aug. 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ FYF Festival
Mon. Sept. 7 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana
Tue. Sept. 8 – York, UK @ The Fulford Arms
Wed. Sept. 9 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club, Games Room
Thu. Sept. 10 – Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast
Fri. Sept. 11 – London, UK @ O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Sat. Sept. 12 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Mon. Sept. 14 – Tilburg, NL @ Incubate 2015
Tue. Sept. 15 – Dortmund, DE @ Freizeitzentrum West (FZW)
Wed. Sept. 16 – Copenhagen, DK @ Huset
Thu. Sept. 17 – Leipzig, DE @ naTo
Fri. Sept. 18 – Mainz, DE @ Schon Schön
Sat. Sept. 19 – Leffinge, BE @ Leffingeleuren 2015
Sun. Sept. 20 – Antwerp, BE @ Het Bos
Mon. Sept. 21 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere

 

 

Kevin Morby Online:
http://www.kevinmorby.com/
https://twitter.com/kevinmorby
https://instagram.com/kevin__morby/
https://www.facebook.com/kevinrobertmorby

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.