Movement Magazine

Rolling Stone Premieres Tracey Thorn’s ‘Songs From The Falling’

Thomas Bellflower April 26, 2015
On Monday, April 27th, Tracey Thorn will release  Songs From The Falling , a new EP comprised of eight songs and sketches that were written for Carol Morley’s forthcoming debut feature film “The Falling.”
“It sounds more like music I made with the Marine Girls or on my first solo album A Distant Shore,” Thorn told Rolling Stone. “I think that’s because I was deliberately trying to inhabit the mindset of these teenage girls, the subjects of the film. So it took me back into myself, in a way that I found really enjoyable.”
The EP has been embraced by  The GuardianStereogum, and NME, who said “Whether she’s singing longingly over stark guitar riffs on ‘It Was Always Me’ or adding folky backing vocals and woodblock percussion to ‘All The Seasons,’ Thorn’s melancholy music is completely captivating.”
Recorded in the north London home studio she shares with her partner Ben Watt (who engineered the recordings), Thorn added guitar and piano, wrote the songs and then – playing everything herself – allowed herself one take only on each of the instruments. “I wanted to leave in all timing discrepancies to try and capture the loose freeform feel of an untutored school performance,” she adds. The final mixes were done by Bruno Ellingham.
“The Falling” movie is out in theaters from April 24 in the UK. A US release of the film is slated for later this year.
Pre-order Songs From The Falling here:
1) Follow Me Down
2) It Was Always Me
3) Are You There?
4) They Only Do Harm
5) Little Things
6) All The Seasons
7) Hospital
8) Let Me In

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.