Movement Magazine

Sea Cycles share ethereal “IDKIDKIDK”

Thomas Bellflower
Ground & Air” LP due out June 9th via Other People Records
US & Canadian Tour Dates With Narrow/Arrow Announced
Jacksonville, FL quartet Sea Cycles have premiered “IDKIDKIDK,” the latest single from the band’s upcoming full length debut Ground & Air, a gorgeous ambient voyage through modern synth pop, retro psych, indie, and experimental rock. Due out on June 9th via Other People Records, Sea Cycles are excited to share “IDKIDKIDK” today via SPIN.

Speaking about the track SPIN said, “the lovely “IDKIDKIDK,” which is as sighing as its title but (luckily) not nearly so uncommitted. Turn-of-the-century Radiohead synth waves wash over Yo La Tengo-like guitar bends and a sublimely rolling drum shuffle, tied together with appropriately melancholy vocals.”



Sea Cycles are heading out on the road for a few weeks throughout the Midwest, East Coast, and Canada with label mates Narrow / Arrow beginning June 19th and wrapping up on July 5th. Check out all the dates below.

6/19 – Mansfield, OH @ Relax, It’s Just Coffee
6/21 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Peoples Warehouse
6/22 – Richmond, VA @ Houdan House
6/24 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings County Saloon
6/25 – Portsmouth, NH @ The Red Door
6/26 – Worcester, MA @ Distant Castle
6/27 – Montreal, QC @ Turbohaus
6/28 – Toronto, ON @ The Smiling Buddah
6/30 – Grand Rapids, MI @ The Quad
7/01 – Kalamazoo, IN @ No Fun House
7/02 – Chicago, IL @ The Abbey
7/03 – Urbana, IL @ Audiofeed
7/04 – Dayton, OH @ Blind Bobs
7/05 – Columbus, OH @ Brothers Drake

Jacksonville, FL has its list of noteworthy artists and musicians like any city does, however if you manage to dig a bit deeper you’ll find an entire thriving ecosystem of bands like when you used to turn over stones behind your elementary school when you were a kid. Among these many creative and talented groups is a band called Sea Cycles, made up from the minds of Brian Squillace, Landon Paul, Josh Wessolowski and Lindsey Shante. Sea Cycles formed in late 2011 and released their brand of ambient synth pop via their self released debut EP What We Came For. After catching the attention of Other People Records, the band are getting ready to release their full length debut  Ground & Air via the Los Angeles based independent label on June 9th, 2015. Drawing positive comparisons to indie favorites such as Broken Social Scene, Yeasayer and M83, Sea Cycles has proven the timeless adage that a good band is a good band and theres no arguing with that.

Ground & Air tracklist:

1. Epiphany on an Insignificant Matter
2. Bear Heads
3. Chhir Batti
4. IDKIDKIDK [ stream/embed]
5. Fiber Optic Cables to Antartica
6. I am Ground, I am Air
7. Commando [ stream/embed]
8. Your Mind is a Sundial
9. Everything Dead
10. Seedlings
11. Diving Bell [ stream/embed]
12. A Small Nook

Like this Article? Share it!

Comments are closed.