Movement Magazine

Watch Moon Duo’s “Slow Down Low” Video

Thomas Bellflower April 15, 2015

WATCH MOON DUO’S “SLOW DOWN LOW” VIDEO https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GqYv1lYDNQU

SHADOW OF THE SUN OUT NOW ON SACRED BONES

 78104d40-b272-48cc-9534-da30b43d2af2

(above image by Antonio Curcetti)

“They revel in the wonder of sonic loops, exploring three- and four-chord patterns while adding and subtracting echoed layers and textures and gliding to eventual conclusion.” — Los Angeles Times 

“Moon Duo’s previous albums are visceral yet dreamy, and Shadow Of The Sun follows suit beautifully. What makes this the best Moon Duo record to date is the way Johnson and Yamada have plumbed ever deeper into their droning, elemental psychedelia.” – NPR Music

“The track leans in close to bluesy boogie-rock, but it keeps the band’s astral inclinations intact. It sounds like something you should play loud while speeding down a desert highway and staring at the night sky.” – Stereogum on “Slow Down Low”

 

Following their recently released third studio album, Shadow of the Sun, out via Sacred Bones last month, and a nationwide tour, Moon Duo share a new video for single “Slow Down Low,” and embark on a two month European tour. The heady black and white clip for “Slow Down Low” was directed by and stars  labelmate Domingo Garcia Huidobro of Chilean group Föllakzoid.   Of the video Huidobro says, “A black mirror monolith articulates an inter-dimensional pathway between present time and an alternate slowed down present in a teenage night out in Buenos Aires. The video was shot with digital cameras and then filtered with a analogue VHS table.”

 

Watch/share Moon Duo’s “Slow Down Low” Video — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GqYv1lYDNQU

“Slow Down Low” stream — https://soundcloud.com/sacredbones/moon-duo-slow-down-low/

“Animal” video — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFhKRt5g7LU

“Animal” stream — https://soundcloud.com/sacredbones/moon-duo-animal/

 

 

Shadow of the Sun was written entirely during an evolving phase for Moon Duo. It was a rare and uneasy rest period, devoid of the constant adrenaline of performing live and the stimulation of traveling through endless moving landscapes. This offered Moon Duo a new space to reflect on all of these previous experiences and cradle them while cultivating the album in the unfamiliar environment of a new dwelling; a dark Portland basement. It was from this stir-crazy fire that Shadow of the Sun was forged.

 

Moon Duo Tour Dates:
Wed. April 15 – Barcelona, ES @ Bikini
Thu. April 16 – Lyon, FR @ Le Marché Gare
Fri. April 17 – Turin, IT @ Spazio 211
Sat. April 18 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen
Mon. April 20 – Munich, DE @ Kranhalle
Tue. April 21 – Berlin, DE @ SO36
Wed. April 22 – Copenhagen, DK @ Stengade
Thu. April 23 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Fri. April 24 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Sat. April 25 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Mon. April 27 – Birmingham, UK @ The Hare & Hound
Tue. April 28 – Bristol, UK @ The Exchange
Wed. April 29 – Leeds, UK @ Left Bank
Thu. April 30 – London, UK @ Village Underground
Fri. May 1 – Dublin, IE @ Workmans Club
Sat. May 2 – Letterkenny, IE @ Distorted Perspective Festival
Sun. May 3 – Glasgow, UK @ Live at Glasgow
Mon. May 4 – Liverpool, UK @ The Kazimer
Wed. May 27 – Metz, FR @ Trinitaire
Thu. May 28 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106
Fri. May 29 – Nantes, FR @ Stereolux
Sat. May 30 – Limonges, FR @ CCM
Sun. May 31 – Toulouse, FR @ Les Abattoirs Museum
Mon. June 1 – Marseilles, FR @ B-Sides
Tue. June 2 – Milan, IT @ Magnolia
Wed. June 3 – Ravenna, IT @ Beaches Brew
Thu. June 4 – Geneva, CH @ La Graviere
Fri. June 5 – Eindhoven, NL @ Eindhoven Psych Fest
Wed. July 15 – Athens, GR @ Eject Festival
Sat. July 18 – Dour, BE @ Dour Festival
Sat. July 25 – Helsinki, FI @ Hori Smoku
Fri. Sep. 11 – Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.