Movement Magazine

Watch new Jenny Hval video for “Sabbath”

Thomas Bellflower July 23, 2015

Watch New Jenny Hval Video For “Sabbath” Via NPR Music
http://n.pr/1MoENJU

North American Tour In Support Of Apocalypse, girl Kicks Off August 25th

 

Following the release of new album, Apocalypse, girl, last month, Norwegian artist Jenny Hval is sharing the new video for “Sabbath.” A collaborative effort between band mates Jenny (vocals, synth), Håvard Volden (electronics), Annie Bielski (performance artist and Apocalypse, girl cover model) and Zia Anger (visual enhancement), the remarkable “Sabbath” video was shot entirely on Anger’s iPhone during their European tour, and in the words of Anger is, “best viewed on a cracked screen.” Read Ann Powers interview with Hval, alongside the video premiere on NPR Music, and catch Jenny Hval on tour throughout North America next month. As Powers describes it, “The video for ‘Sabbath,’ debuting here, further enhances the music’s dreamlike quality — but those familiar with experimental art’s intergenerational conversations will also see Hval’s wit in connecting with that history.”

Watch Jenny Hval’s “Sabbath” video –
https://youtu.be/csIDglmrupc “Sabbath” – https://soundcloud.com/sacredbones/jenny-hval-sabbath/
“That Battle Is Over” –  https://soundcloud.com/sacredbones/jenny-hval-that-battle-is-over
Apocalypse, girl Trailer – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eiaNE2smmZI

Jenny Hval Tour Dates:
Tue. Aug. 25 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel #
Thu. Aug. 27 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios #
Fri. Aug. 28 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt #
Sat. Aug. 29 – Seattle, WA  @ Barboza #
Tue. Sep. 1 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry #
Wed. Sep. 2 – Iowa City, IA @ The Mill #
Thu. Sep. 3 – Chicago, IL @ Constellation #
Fri. Sep. 4 – Toronto, ON @ Drake #
Sat. Sep. 5 – Montreal, QC @ Bar le Ritz #
Sun. Sep. 6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade #
Tue. Sep. 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle #
Wed. Sep. 9 – Washington, DC @ DC9 #
Thu. Sep. 10 – Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Festival
Fri. Sep. 11 – Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter #
Mon. Sep. 14 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl #
Wed. Sep. 16 – Austin, TX @ Holy Mountain #
Thu. Sep. 17 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links #
Sat. Sep. 19 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar #
Sun. Sep. 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy #

# with Briana Marela

Purchase Apocalypse, girl:
via Sacred Bones – http://bit.ly/1JOjsrX
via iTunes – https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/apocalypse-girl/id968903924
via Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Apocalypse-girl-Jenny-Hval/dp/B00UART0FO

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.